The National Wet Paint MFA Biennial Returns to Chicago


It has been five years now since I started the Wet Paint MFA exhibition concept for the Zhou B Art Center.  Two years ago, we decided to turn it into a Biennial. After a year break, we are back in Chicago. This year, we received over 500 submissions from painters in MFA programs across the United States. What makes this exhibition unique is that we do not charge a penny for submisions. Unlike many other juried shows, artists submit for free. Additionally, we ask MFA programs to recommend promising candidates and recent graduates.   I am excited to welcome Wet Paint this year again!

The National Wet Paint MFA Biennial Exhibition 2014 is an outlook and an overview of top MFA painting programs in the United States. Wet Paint refers to the idea that this is a fresh group of artists. They are MFA (Masters of Fine Arts) candidates and recent MFA recipients working primarily in the medium of painting. Now on its fourth edition this growing and highly competitive juried exhibition will bring to Chicago some of the most talented emerging artists in the country. Wet Paint 2014 is fully funded by the Zhou B. Art Center which makes it possible for graduate students to submit works for consideration at no cost. Wet Paint 2014 takes place from January 13 to February 15 in the spacious second floor gallery of the Zhou B Art Center. Wet Paint is juried and curated by Sergio Gomez, MFA.

Wet Paint 2014 seeks to highlight traditional and experimental ways contemporary artists incorporate and embrace painting as their primary medium.

2014 Wet Paint Selected Artists

Gabriela Amaya-Baron, Kendall College of Art and Design
Julie Rotblatt Amrany, Art Institute of Boston at Lesley University
Andres Arizaga, Purdue University
Kim Benson, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Kevin B Blake, Lesley University College of Art and Design
Andrew Brown, Louisiana State University
Carolyn Burns, Massachusetts College of Art and Design
Jonathan Casserilla, Northern Illinois University
Namwon Choi, Georgia State University
Katie St. Clair, University of Michigan
Brandon C. Cline, Miami University
Federico Cuatlacuatl, Bowling Green State University
Jenny Day, University of Arizona
Jennifer Diaz, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Ani Garabedian, Wayne State University
Ebrahim Namdar Ghanbari, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Claire Girodie, Towson University
Miranda Graham, Kendall College of Art and Design
Tatsuki Hakoyama, Kendall College of Art and Design
Ken Hill, Rutgers University
Erin Hinz, University of Notre Dame
Aneka Ingold, Kendall College of Art and Design
Chintia Kirana, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
Elizabeth Klingler, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
Aitor Lajarin, University of California, San Diego
James Lambert, Massachusetts College of Art and Design
Tiffany Livingston, Tyler School of Art
James Louks, The University of Montana
Chase McBride, University of Maryland
Thomas Moore, Washington University in St. Louis
Diana Neudorf, Miami University
Gina O’Connor, Columbia University
Marcus Payzant, University of Texas at Austin
Christine Bush Roman, University of Georgia
Celeste Rapone, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Luis Sahagun, Northern Illinois University
Sweet Samson, Otis college of Art and Design
Heather Sandy, Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville
Michael Seeley, Miami University
Alison Stinely, Indiana University
Janet Suarez, Georgia Southern University
Molly Teitelbaum, Parsons the new school for Design
Harry William Sidebotham II, Illinois State University
Adrian Waggoner, Ohio State University
Ryan Weatherly, University of Washington
Bernadette Witzack, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor


1 2 3 4 5 6

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s